Administrative Setup

Administrative Setup
General Administration
Meerut division consists of six districts namely- Meerut, Bagpat, Bulandshahr, Ghaziabad, Gautambudh Nagar, Hapur and is headed by the Divisional Commissioner of Meerut. The Commissioner is the head of local government institutions in the division; is in charge of infrastructure development in his division; and is also responsible for maintaining law and order in the division.

Meerut district administration is headed by the District Magistrate of Meerut. The District Magistrate is assisted by a Chief Development Officer (CDO), five Additional District Magistrates (ADM) (Executive, Finance/Revenue, City,  Land Acquisition, Judicial),  one City Magistrate (CM), and four Additional City Magistrates (ACM).

The district is divided into 3 sub-divisions and 12 development blocks. Each sub-division headed by a Sub Divisional magistrate and Blocks are headed by Block Development Officer (BDO).


S.No. Tehsils Blocks Total Number of Villages
1. Meerut Jaani, Kharkhoda, Machra, Meerut, Rajpura, Rohta 302
2. Mawana Hastinapur, Machra, Mawana, Parikshitgarh 224
3. Sardhana Daurala, Sardhana, Saroorpur 136

Police Administration
Meerut district comes under the Meerut Police Zone and Meerut Police Range. Meerut  Zone is headed by an Additional Director General(ADG), and the Meerut Range is headed by Inspector General(IG).

The district police is headed by a Senior Superintendent of Police (SSP), and is assisted by  Superintendents of Police (SP)/Additional Superintendents of Police (Addl. SP). Each of the several police circles is headed by a Circle Officer (CO) in the rank of Deputy Superintendent of Police.